© കേരള സർക്കാർ Government of Kerala 2021



Regn.No. KERBIL/2012/45073 dated 05-09-2012 with RNI Reg No.KI/TV(N)/634/2018-20

കേരള ഗസറ്റ് KERALA GAZETTE

അസാധാരണം

EXTRAORDINARY

ആധികാരികമായി പ്രസിദ്ധപ്പെടുത്തുന്നത് PUBLISHED BY AUTHORITY

വാല്യം 10 Vol. X തിരുവനന്തപുരം, തിങ്കൾ

Thiruvananthapuram, Monday **2021 ഫെബ്രുവരി 08** 08th February 2021

1196 മകരം 26 26th Makaram 1196

1942 മാഘം 19 19th Magha 1942 നമ്പർ No

592

KERALA STATE MENTAL HEALTH AUTHORITY

NOTIFICATION

No. A/217/2017/KSMHA.

25th January, 2021

Dated, Thiruvananthapuram, <u>12th Makaram, 1196</u> 5th Magha, 1942.

In exercise of the powers conferred by sub section (1) and (2) of section 73 of the Mental Healthcare Act, 2017 (Central Act No. 10 of 2017) read with rule 17 of the Mental healthcare (Central Mental Health Authority and Review Boards) Rules, 2018. The Kerala State Mental Health Authority in consultation with the Government of Kerala hereby constitute the following five Mental Health Review Boards mentioned in column (2) of the Schedule below with area of jurisdiction of Districts specified in column (3) thereof, namely:—



SCHEDULE

Sl. No.	Name and Location	Area of jurisdiction
(1)	(2)	(3)
1	The Mental Health Review Board, Thiruvananthapuram, Government Mental Health Centre, Thiruvananthapuram	Thiruvananthapuram Kollam Alappuzha
2	The Mental Health Review Board, Kottayam Government Medical College, Kottayam	Kottayam Pathanamthitta Idukki
3	The Mental Health Review Board, Thrissur Government Mental Health Centre, Thrissur	Thrissur Ernakulam Palakkad
4	The Mental Health Review Board, Kozhikode Government Mental Health Centre, Kozhikode	Kozhikode Malappuram Wayanad
5	The Mental Health Review Board, Kannur Government Medical College, Kannur	Kannur Kasargod

By order of the Authority,
DR. JAYAPRAKASHAN, K. P.,
Chief Executive Officer (in charge).

Explanatory Note

(This does not form part of the notification, but is intended to indicate its general purport.)

As per section 73 of Mental Healthcare Act, 2017, the State Mental Health Authority shall by notification, constitute Boards to be called the Mental Health Review Boards, for the purposes of this Act and the requisite number, location and jurisdiction of the Boards, shall be specified by the State Authority in consultation with the State Governments concerned. The constitution of the Mental Health Review Boards by the State Authority for a district or group of districts in a State shall be such as may be prescribed by the Central Government. Rule 17 of the Mental Healthcare (Central Mental Health Authority and Review Boards) Rules, 2018, provides that, the State Authority shall in consultation with State Government, take decision on the number of such Boards to be constituted in the State. As per G. O. (Rt.) No. 115/2021/H&FW dated 12th January, 2021, the Government granted permission to constitute five Mental Health Review Boards at Thiruvananthapuram, Kottayam, Thrissur, Kozhikode and Kannur having the jurisdiction mentioned in the 'SCHEDULE' of the above notification.

The notification is intended to achieve the object.

